New Gallery: The London Group

8th September 2018 - 29th September 2018

The London Group is heading west to the historic and contemporary art colony of St Ives, Cornwall, to stage an exhibition of its members’ work at the Penwith Gallery, St Ives, home of the Penwith Society of Artists. Both groups are recognised as two of the UK’s most prestigious and longest-established artists’ collectives and have collaborated with two major exhibitions in London and St Ives, Cornwall.

One of the London Group’s aims is to ‘advance public awareness of contemporary visual art’ – an objective it constantly achieves with regular shows in London, throughout the UK and the World.

This unique alliance culminates during the St Ives September Festival, with The London Group at St Ives at the Penwith Gallery and a concurrent selling exhibition of notable past members and associates of The London Group at the Belgrave St Ives Gallery called The London Group – the St Ives Connection.

These exhibitions will provide opportunities to witness the diverse energies of the current LG members within an iconic exhibition space and appreciate the Group’s historic membership, its significant contribution to British Art along with associations with Cornish artistic communities during the Group’s 115 year history.

Susan Haire, current London Group President comments,

“We are full of anticipation for our exhibition in the beautiful Penwith Gallery which has had years of planning and nowhere could be more fitting for a London Group regional exhibition. We look forward to bringing a show to St Ives that demonstrates the breadth and diversity of work that we as a group celebrate enthusiastically. The LG is proud that the Penwith Society’s illustrious founder member and benefactor Barbara Hepworth was also a London Group member.”


London Group members exhibiting at the Penwith Gallery:

Moich Abrahams, Mark Ainsworth, Wendy Anderson, Victoria Arney, Victoria Bartlett, Bryan Benge, Slawomir Blatton, Frank Bowling OBE RA, Clive Burton, Paul & Laura Carey, Ece Clarke, Robert Clarke, Peter Clossick, Tim Craven, John Crossley, Philip Crozier, Mark Dunford, Angela Eames, Anthony Eyton RA, James Faure Walker, Eric Fong, Cadi Froehlich, Marenka Gabeler, Genetic Moo, Tricia Gilman, Vaughan Grylls, Susan Haire, Julie Held, Bill Henderson, Aude Hérail Jäger, Martin Heron, Gillian Ingham, Sam Jarman, Annie Johns, Judith Jones, Matthew Kolakowski, Pauline Little, Amanda Loomes, Jeff Lowe, Graham Mileson, C. Morey de Morand, Peter Morrell, Charlotte C. Mortensson, Kathleen Mullaniff, Darren Nisbett, Eugene Palmer, Ian Parker, Claire Parish, Janet Patterson, Michael Phillipson, Chris Poulton, Daniel Preece, Alex Ramsay, Victoria Rance, David Redfern, Tom Scase, Tommy Seaward, David Shutt, Pilippa Stjernsward, Suzan Swale, Almuth Tebbenhoff, David Tebbs, Paul Tecklenberg, David Theobald, Mike Thorpe, Philippa Tunstill, Bill Watson, Neil Weerdmeester, Tisna Westerhof, Arthur Wilson, Susan Wilson, Erika Winstone, David Wiseman.